









5 March 2009 | Transatlantic Policy Options for the Marine Arctic | Brussels, Belgium

Marriott Hotel Rue Auguste Orts 3-7/Grand Place Brussels 1000

8:00	Registration and coffee
8:45	Opening remarks Ms. Benita Ferrero-Waldner, European Commissioner for External Relations and European Neighbourhood Policy
9:00	Welcome remarks Mr. R. Andreas Kraemer, Director, Ecologic Institute
9:10	Keynote address Ms. Diana Wallis, Vice President and Member of the European Parliament
9:25	Keynote address Dr. Lawson Brigham, Chair, Arctic Council's Arctic Marine Shipping Assessment and University of Alaska Fairbanks
9:40	Presentation of Arctic Transform results Mr. Aaron Best, Senior Fellow, Ecologic Institute
10:00	Coffee Break
10:45	EU Arctic Policy: Recent past and new initiatives <i>Mr. Janos Herman, Principal Advisor, European Commission, Directorate General for External Relations</i>
11:00	U.S. Arctic Policy: Recent past and new initiatives Ms. Julie Gourley, Senior Arctic Official of the United States, U.S. State Department













11:15 Panel Discussion: Understanding sector-specific challenges—key synergies and trade-offs

Dr. Paul Berkman, Head, Arctic Geopolitics Programme, Scott Polar Research Institute, University of Cambridge

Mr. Kjartan Hoydal, Secretary, North East Atlantic Fisheries Commission

Dr. Timo Koivurova, Professor, Arctic Centre, University of Lapland

Mr. Kevin O'Carroll, Chair, OSPAR Offshore Industry Committee (Convention for the Protection of the Marine Environment of the North-East Atlantic)

Dr. Kirsi Tikka, Vice President of Global Technology and Business Development American Bureau of Shipping

Moderator: **Dr. Jacqueline McGlade,** Executive Director, European Environment Agency

12:30 *Lunch*

14:00 Panel Discussion: Policy options—how can we improve international environmental governance in the Arctic marine area?

Dr. Lawson Brigham, Chair, Arctic Council's Arctic Marine Shipping Assessment and University of Alaska Fairbanks

Ms. Patricia Cochran, Chair, Inuit Circumpolar Council

Dr. Neil Hamilton, Director, WWF-Arctic International Programme

Dr. David Johnson, Executive Secretary, OSPAR Commission (Convention for the Protection of the Marine Environment of the North-East Atlantic)

Dr. Erik Jaap Molenaar, Senior Research Associate, Netherlands Institute for the Law of the Sea. Utrecht University

Ms. Lisa Speer, Director, Water and Oceans Program, Natural Resources Defence Council

Moderator: **Ms. Soledad Blanco**, Director of International Affairs, European Commission, Directorate General Environment

15:15 Coffee Break













15:45 Panel Discussion: Next steps—near-term strategies for pursuing our common interests in the Arctic

Ms. Julie Gourley, Senior Arctic Official of the United States, U.S. State Department

Mr. Janos Herman, Principal Advisor, European Commission, Directorate General for External Relations

Mr. Sven Roald Nystø, Special Advisor on Northern Affairs at Arran

Ms. Helena Ödmark, Senior Arctic Official of Sweden, Ministry for Foreign Affairs

Mr. Ole Samsing, Special Advisor, Danish Ministry for Foreign Affairs

Moderator: **Mr. David Monsma,** Executive Director, Energy and Environment Program, The Aspen Institute

17:00 Closing remarks

Mr. R. Andreas Kraemer, Director, Ecologic Institute

17:15 End of the conference

For additional information about the project, please refer to the project website: www.arctic-transform.org

For all inquires about the project, please contact:

Sandra.Cavalieri@ecologic.eu

Ecologic Institute
Pfalzburger Strasse 43/44
D-10717 Berlin

Phone: +49 30 86 88 0-0 Fax: +49 30 86 88 0-100

www.ecologic.eu

We would like to thank the British Council for generously providing the photographs taken by Robert van Waarden from the Cape Farewell Project.

We thank the European Commission Directorate General for External Relations for providing the core project funding, as well as the Finnish Embassy in Berlin, the Danish Embassy in Brussels, the Foundation for the Good Governance of International Spaces and the WWF-International Arctic Programme for their contributions at different stages of Arctic Transform.

We would like to thank the more than 50 experts who contributed to the Arctic Transform project (Full expert list online: http://www.arctic-transform.org/working-groups.html).

